Paying The Ultimate Price For Hope

rogueone_onesheeta

“All these people died still believing what God had promised them. They did not receive what was promised, but they saw it all from a distance and welcomed it…” Hebrews 11:13a

I watched Rogue One: A Star Wars Story earlier this week. As a Star Wars geek, I didn’t get as much of the feels as I did for Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens; but that’s a whole different conversation. However, the one part that I really enjoyed was the Final Act of the movie.

(SPOILER ALERT. Please stop here and come back once you’ve watched the movie)

In the Final Act of the movie, protagonists Jyn Erso and Cassian Andor, have – against all odds – successfully completed their struggle to transmit the Death Star plans to the Rebellion. The poignant part, however, was that they were never truly sure that they were successful.

As they exit the transmitting tower, Cassian turns to Jyn and asks, “Do you think anyone heard us?”

To which, Jyn responds, “They’re up there.”

And then (and this is the part that really makes the movie for me) they settle down on the beach at Scarif, embracing each other, as the shockwave of the Death Star engulfs them.

rogue-one-gallery32_ea791280The protagonists of Rogue One: A Star Wars Story paid the ultimate price. They never even saw – much less enjoyed – the fruit of their labours despite paying such a high price.

They never saw the Death Star destroyed.

They never witnessed the Empire defeated.

They never celebrated the Rebellion’s victory.

They paid the ultimate sacrifice and all they had was the small hope that everything they have done was not in vain.

All this made me think of the theme of Hope, which I’ve been meditating on this Advent season. I wonder whether I could still maintain hope in the face of such dire circumstances… in the face of seemingly utter defeat?

Would I still hope, even if I had to pay the ultimate price?

Could I pay the ultimate price for my hope?

I hope so.

Leave a comment